Mean

Posted on Updated on

Have you experienced this gnashing urge to hurl whatever you are holding, say a padlock or a volume of Encyclopedia Britannica, to somebody whose level of idiocy has reached a point that even the most forgiving of humans cannot tolerate, much less you?

Padlock

You thought such existence of a pea-sized brain is only possible in the realm of science fiction, but you caught yourself aghast after discovering that God has forsaken them and deprived them of a basic human attribute — possession of a brain that is of decent size capable of basic functions and of thinking with a semblance of sense, at least.

Now tell me, who says God is fair?

I just cannot fathom why people like these exist. Diversity makes the world more exciting, I hear somebody reasoning out. These dimwitted, imbecilic, morons have the same right as I have to exist and enjoy this fleeting opportunity to live. If you ask me, however, I’d rather be dead than dumb.

“What are you reading?” He asked in his all too forced American twang.

“Oh, a novel by Joseph Conrad. By the way, I’d rather read than talk about banalities and your problem with that seventeen-year old you impregnated,” said I.

“Interesting. You love reading Pupung?”

“Sure, I also enjoyed reading that when I was in college.”

“I have a complete collection of all the volumes. But my all time favorite is Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.”

“Really? Please evaporate.”

I went on reading and tried to look as riveted as I possibly could with the story of two men forced by their work and circumstance to live in the Congo Basin. This I hoped would send him a statement that I do not need a brain dead lurking while I am spending my precious time reading. But he is as thick skinned as he is a pudding head.

“Do you want to go out and use the free internet in the other building?”

“No, I’ll just stay here. If you want, you can just go. I’m okay here.”

“You know what, my wife [they’re not married] is giving birth this August.”

“Oh nice, eh di ayos. Leave me alone.”

But he stayed there beside me interrupting my reading every thirty seconds disregarding my almost pleading actions that told him to leave me alone. I was holding a heavy duty padlock that time. Reading the darkness in Conrad’s characters Kayerts and Carlier, I had a hard time holding back my internal need to force the metal lock inside his big mouth.

14 thoughts on “Mean

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    sure..sure if i do get a chance.

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    really..
    i think that’s very unlikely.

      John Ryan Recabar responded:
      March 13, 2010 at 10:56 pm

      hahaha. just ask them…..

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    ok whatever you say professor..:-)

    by the way, i think i might enjoy being your student!

      John Ryan Recabar responded:
      March 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      hahaha. ask my students and they’ll tell you otherwise.

    John Ryan Recabar responded:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    violence is not violent if it is of non-violent quality. but saying so is breaching the rule of definition by Wittgenstein.

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    violence is good, as long as it’s non violence..
    is there such thing? violence but non violence.
    i guess it’s called karinyo brutal..tama ba?

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    hahaha..i can be non violent also, and i can be sweet and nice..in my dreams that is!

      John Ryan Recabar responded:
      March 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      see? that scares me. cut on the violence na lang.

    John Ryan Recabar responded:
    March 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    joan, you gave me an idea how violent you can be.

    Joan said:
    March 13, 2010 at 5:02 am

    when my boss is talking to me i feel like bumping my head in a concrete wall until the blood gushes out and splatter to him so maybe then he would leave me alone..

    seriously,these talkers should know whether the person they talking to is interested or not to what they were saying..

    i just wish there’s a real place like the one in the movie– the invention of lying,where you can blurt ALL your thoughts without having to feel guilty.

    charmie said:
    July 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Hahaha. This made me really laugh! The guy needs to expand his brain a little. haha

    John Ryan Recabar responded:
    July 24, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Subtlety. I wouldn’t want to be too direct because I think the need for it is not very apparent. I thought the other person would know. But what can I do? I’ve never been the confrontational type.

    I hoped he would get my message. He didn’t. That’s why I wrote it here.

    Den Relojo said:
    July 24, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Then you should have been brutally frank that you don’t want to be disturbed while you are reading a book… I believe that a simple statement could have directly sent your message across.

Leave a Reply

