Floody Friday

Monsoon in Vietnam supposed to have started around June and would’ve peaked in September. However, because of climate change and other environmental disturbances man has brought about, it did not anymore surprise me when rain came apouring without any sign of abetting starting in Monday of this week.

I failed to attend my class this afternoon because the way to my school was heavily flooded. Ba Dinh district in Hanoi is so susceptible to sudden rise in flood water because its low level with respect to other places in the city. Aside from that, it has numerous lakes that serve as catch basins for excess rainwater, and since raining has not stopped since Monday, all its small lakes overflowed submerging the entire place; and unfortunately for me, my university is located in the center of the district.

Seeing that the narrow street to my school was flooded, and not wanting to miss class, I tried to find alternative route. But this caused me more harm than good. Trying to avoid getting wet and wading in flood water, my search for a dry street leading to my school ended in vain, instead I got caught in a frenzy of motorists trying their best to cross the knee-deep, murky flood water. When I reached Daewoo Hotel, several hundred meters from my school, the roller chain of my bike get caught between the gears. Without any lever to remove the stuck chain it was just impossible. Then two boys approached me and volunteered to fix my bike for me. Business as usual, it’s just amazing to think that in adversities like this people will always think of earning money. They charged me 20,000 dongs, I said it was too much. Then I bargained for 10,000. They mistook me for a Singaporean and told me that I must be rich. I took my wallet, and concluded the awkward situation by offering them 15,000 dongs. Case closed.

I wasn’t able to attend class. I got wet. I got lost.

I’m scared I might have contracted leptospirosis because I took off my shoes when the flood was already capable of drowning me. I will not bear thinking that when people ask about the cause of my death, then the answer will be: “Ah, it’s because of the urine of rats in flood water. What a pity.”

I love rain but too much rain is just too much.

8 thoughts on “Floody Friday”

  1. hey, i accidentally found this blog when searching for hanoi flood…
    pretty good blog, n u have been to malaysia!!!tat is cool..
    anyway, m a malaysian, n hope tat everything will be fine when i go to hanoi.
    life goes on with the flood=)
    cheers

  2. oh sorry hehe i misspelled it hhee thank you for the correction linapuhan. leptospirosis people. you got to take the prophylaxis now hehe.

  3. Pity for you ” haa haa ” but the same with me today. I had to walk on heavy rain a few km with my moto, but my moto can run because to much water made it die. And then i have a day off indisposed. I have just Missed my friend wedding today because i don’t have transportation to come there. Maybe if it still go on raining, i will stay at home tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

