Saturday after the heavy rain in Hanoi

I thought it was just eight o’clock when I woke up this morning because I did not hear the alarm from my phone; I was shocked to realize it was already 11 o’clock. So I rushed to take a bath and start my day, although I knew I did not have any plans lined up. Just when I was about to bathe in cold water, the bathroom light went off and the rain outside started to pour. Cold water and no electricity do not go together so well. I took a quick shower and had lunch with my friend and her mom.

My friend and I waited until three in the afternoon for the electricity to return. We talked about the results of flooding in some areas of Hanoi. She read in the news that there were five people who already died because of this flood in the outskirts of the capital. These are generally rural areas but are considered part of Hanoi since the city government extended its scope several months ago. Two women were carried away by flood and a man and his son were hit by lighting while draining their rice field of excess water.

How unfair things are. When calamities hit, they hit worst the ill-prepared. But who are the least prepared? The poor of course. Preparing for a calamity is the last in their list of concerns, for finding food and other basic necessities are more urgent. Being hit by lightning, however, is a totally different thing, if it is not providential then it must be luck.

Around four, I decided to go to gym after boredom took the better of me. But it was a shock when flood met me again on my way to the fitness club. Not wanting to risk contracting leptospirosis, I went back home. In the middle of the way back home, I thought of documenting the effect of flood in the center of Hanoi. Below are the pictures taken using a 2 mega pixels Sony Ericsson camera phone:

A street in Kim Lien that was left unpassable by motorbikes and cars.

A facade of an ancient temple transformed into a residential area. The area is used as a short cut every time the traffic jam in the intersection of Kim Lien escalates which is worsen by the slow construction of an underpass.

Business as usual for these women selling lottery tickets outside Van Mieu (Temple of Literature) and foreign tourists whose sense of adventure to “discover” a third world history remain strong in spite of the intermittent rain and flood. Here they are waiting for a ride in their chartered bus outside the temple.

Lovers wading in and holding each other while strolling beside the overflowing Ho Dac Si, a small lake near the author’s house.

Fishing in the street. These men doing a desperate attempt to save this month’s catch from the nearby fish cage located in Ho Dac Si.

On the way home.

5 thoughts on “Saturday after the heavy rain in Hanoi”

  1. Thank for your post. I’m a Hanoian and I saw that the weather is very terrible. I’m separated from my office and home. I didn’t come back home until 10h AM today.

Leave a Reply

