Letting go of fatalism: finding a job

I’m on a frenzy now. A mix of emotions that border on the absurd. I just started looking for jobs in the Philippines last night and it’s not easy. I’ve never tried looking for a serious work before. My application as an instructor in the University of the Philippines was not that difficult, at least, because the panel already knew my strengths and weaknesses and that I did not have to sell my self to a certain extent. But for a job in a private corporation in Manila, my credentials may speak for me, but I think it won’t be enough considering the competition in the working world this time.

manila

I intend to work in Manila after, in case, this will be my first time to work in my country’s capital city and to actually stay there and immerse my self in the hustle and bustle of a big metropolis. I am scared but am even more excited. Bigger world means being able to experience a lot of things that I will otherwise miss if I stay in one place during my entire lifetime.

I am trying to console myself that the economic condition of the world in general and my lack of working experience might delegate me to the lowest position, or worse not being able to find a job at all, but I am trying to be hopeful.

In fact I am considering finding another scholarship for a graduate degree just to postpone my entrance to the working world. I just hate the idea of working. I loved formal learning so much, but this time, I’ve got to choose, and it appears that the best choice is to work.

For most twenty-somethings this part of life is one of the most dreadful. I just can’t imagine being asked about my salary and not being able to answer because it’s dismally low. I can’t imagine being asked about what I do if it’s something I am not happy doing. A lot of things to consider, but at the end of the day it all boils down to a fact that I have to work. I may study forever and reason out that I am learning for learning’s sake, but then again, learning is not an end in itself. I have to apply what I have learned through a job and receive remuneration for doing my job.

manila2

I’ve been quite fatalistic these past few years. If given a chance to choose between a stable job or studying abroad, without any consideration, I’ll choose the former, but as I age I am starting to realize that I can’t think of adventures all the time because travelers also have to take a rest, or that superheroes have Louis or grandma waiting for them after a day of saving the world from all nemeses.

I guess I have to slow down on my fatalism and be more pragmatic and realistic. I have to plan my next action. A new life will greet me a month from now, and I cannot afford to fail.

2 thoughts on “Letting go of fatalism: finding a job”

  1. Eve, for most of is nothing beats the adrenaline our body releases when we experience great adventures that has nothing to do with work, but when we reach a certain level, our body will have to complain. Not that I am saying that I have reached that point, maybe I just need to find something stable.

    As for you, there’s a lot of things in store, so love your work and plan your next course of action. I bet that resigning from your current job will not be a good idea. I wish you all the best.

    Good luck to us.

  2. I understand. The thing is I need to get out of my realistic lifestyle and start moving around more and doing different things in life.

    Of course I want my job and everything, but sometimes I feel that I’m wasting my life with all the meetings, phone calls and long working hours. Sometimes I wanna leave it all behind and get on a plane and go to different places and do different things.

    I don’t need a vacation. I just need to live as the real me not the responsible me who’s doing what should be done.

Leave a Reply

