How to tell without actually telling it

There are some stories in our lives that will have to remain untold because we think that they are inconsistent with the image we want to have for ourselves. It is not hypocrisy, that I am certain of. It is more of our own human tendency to discriminate and decide what we want to become, how we want the world to perceive us, or how to live our life. Although using this line of reasoning, one can infer that choice has a big part in the equation, in reality, though, it only has a marginal role. Choice only figures after fate has done its job.

We met almost a week ago. But it seems that the story will end here, and the pronoun will stay in the first person plural because utilizing the third person singular will give away that person’s identity. I am not being hypocrite, I am just being wary. A college friend said that the world is too dumb to understand, too oblivious to care, too petty to matter. When she said that line, I almost laughed at the melodrama of the content of what she said and the stiff-upper-lippy manner she said that truth about our species.

This has happened several times before: being involved with somebody and finding out in the end that the affair is but a series of hot flushes of temporary psychosis that can be treated with short, cold shower.

silhouette-tips-1

The thin lines created by the light coming from the cinema screen almost made the silhouette of that person as conspicuous as the darkness. I tried to focus my attention on the movie we were watching but the silhouette forces itself on me. I became less critical of the plot of Angels and Demons and more appreciative of the effort made by the director to make the outrageous storyline more believable. I forgave his flawed assumption that a fictional movie should also be an illogical one. All because of the person I was with that time gave the supposed sharp images from that movie a soft sepia tone reminiscent of 60s films.

Tom Hanks played well the role of an academic caught between his objective university high ground and the scandals involving the Vatican. He is not the muscular, physically agile protagonist who can dodge dangers with martial arts skill or dexterity with guns but he is smart enough to analyze the clues within cutthroat deadlines. The owner of the silhouette is just as interesting.

To entertain is one of a film’s many functions. For Angels and Demons, that is its only function, and it did accomplish the only thing it was supposed to do. It will be very tempting to read it using any available literary approach but doing so will defeat the purpose of the film. For like the presence of an anti-matter cum bomb, the film itself has a logic taken beyond the possible bounds of our ability to comprehend, in the same way that that person, the owner of the silhouette, transcends narrative.

5 thoughts on “How to tell without actually telling it”

  1. Hahaha. My next post, I hope, will be more readable. After enrolling in your class on Postcolonial Reading, the language used by Babba, Spivak, Said, and the rest intrigued me that I am starting to see myself writing in a language that alienates most of my readers…and myself.

    As to the guuuurl in the cinema…it was all silhouette. Bwahaha. Thanks for passing by, sir.

  2. I’m not interested with Angels and Demons, tell me about the guuuuurl!? Or what happened inside the cinema while watching Angels and Demons. Bwahahaha!

    Now after sharing with me how to tell something without actually telling it, tell me about it the journalism way — traditonal, inverted pyramid way. ehehehe.

  3. that’s a rather interesting comment on the post. it was not my intention to be cryptic. probably the books i’ve been reading these past few days influenced me in ways i am not conscious of. but thanks for pointing that out.

  4. intriguing post.almost metaphysical. i like it for the very reason that i don’t understand it… or perhaps, i am not about to allow myself to understand it. is this one of those masturbatory writings? jd salinger must be laughing at me now: “All you have to do is say something nobody understands and they’ll do practically anything you want them to.”

Leave a Reply

