Pictures in black and white

A lot of events in our lives could’ve been forgotten had we not done something courageous to save them for posterity. In what seemingly ordinary day in Janiuay, Iloilo, aided by my digital camera, I captured moments with my grandmother two years ago in black and white.

My inability to sleep led to this unprompted task of editing these pictures that I fortunately saved in my laptop. So here I am at 2 o’clock in the morning amid the raging typhoon Ondoy (Ketsana) outside imagining how my lola looks like after 2 years of not seeing her (would she be like the matriarch in Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude who is transformed into a prune?). And wincing at the sight of my hair, thankful that the camera did not clearly capture and save forever the atrocious and unforgivable thing I did of dying my hair blonde.

lola1

lola7

lola9

lola8

Leave a Reply

