On why it is difficult to say smart things all the time

In a middle of a heated conversation about a generic topic (examples would be the weather, recent happenings in politics and show business, and the economy) saying something that is downright inconsistent with the intellectual tone of the engagement is not only a form of betrayal but also an impropriety.

People like hearing other people saying witty commentaries about unimportant things, inasmuch as they like hearing themselves saying something smart about something they think is worth their two cents.

That is why, these days, it is getting more difficult to say something smart and original because people are getting smarter and wittier. It is now harder to participate in cerebral exchanges as the probability of saying something stupid increases as the number of people who think they are smart climb.

And so for some, they choose the most obvious choice, to wallow in the comfort of silence.

****

I almost forgot, today is my mother’s birthday. Happy Birthday, ma.

9 thoughts on “On why it is difficult to say smart things all the time”

  1. Hey there!

    Yes I would like to learn blogroll exchanging but as a dumb gringo I don’t even know what it means or how to go about it. Tell me how to do this and I’ll be happy to. I depart for the South Seas in 25 hours, so if you don’t hear from me until January, please understand.

    All the best,
    Kit

    1. Kit,

      Adding me to your blogroll is simple. Open my blog, in the uppermost part where you can see the part if you want to go to your dashboard, you’ll see ‘blog info’. Click that and you get to some sort of of a drop down menu. Then click ‘Add to Blogroll’. You may do this to all the blogs you want to include in your wordpress blog. Good luck on your trip. Happy holidays.

  2. Gosh, I suggest you start mistrusting the world. It’s full of evil butterflies and monochromatic rainbows.

    Now learn how to sense sarcasm and all its variants.

  3. I hope you sensed the sarcasm in this post. The subtleties. You expect me to think that this is an intelligent world? Come on.

    Laughing (not-so) Out Loud.

    Thanks for the detour here.

  4. Really?

    For the most part, I feel that I have to censor myself lest I trigger the ire of the teeming hordes and be labeled as a smart ass. I’m not saying I’m far too intelligent than the rest. However, most conversations I find myself getting stuck in is so replete of brain activity and buried beneath layers of hoary cliche that for the most part I have to hold myself back from rolling my eyeballs or laughing out loud at the sheer inanity that passes off as “normal conversation”.

    I must disagree with you.

    I believe the contrary–we’re surrounded by idiots.

Leave a Reply

