The crowd is evil

Television has lost its appeal on me a long time ago simply because I dread seeing people being led to a brainless existence and enjoying this existence. I stopped attending Mass because I cannot stand overhearing mundane conversations around me while the host is being raised by the priest. I feel suffocated inside a night club not with cigarette smoke but with people who make pretence of happiness, their laughter signifying vacuity.

http://triarchypress.com

Being a part of the crowd is immoral, it is a complete abnegation of one’s identity in favor of the faceless and perverse crowd. This same lack of morality, its refusal to understand individual morality makes the very composition of the crowd depraved. It tranquilizes an individual making him believe that he is safe in its company, that an individual can do whatever he wants because his presence and his action is negligible and immaterial vis-à-vis the size and operations of the crowd.

I wonder why some individuals continue to hold on to their individuality when the entire exercise of setting himself apart from the rest is tiring at best and futile at worst. Modern society is tricking us to believe that it values individuality but when we look closer and peer deeper into the subtleties, it wants nothing from us but to conform to all its whims.

The crowd is slowly killing the individual.

http://www.troyheadrick.com

6 thoughts on “The crowd is evil”

  1. even the most secular people feel compelled to build places of gathering for human beings who are social by nature. we are social beings. it’s writ large in our natures to come together.

    nagback read ako. hehe

    1. i believe that ‘being social’ is a construct and like anything that has been constructed, it can be deconstructed.

  2. hahaha. le, i’m currently traveling home when i happened to check my email. Thanks for the encouragement.

    I miss the two of you. Two of the most unforgettable women in my life. and i always think of co doanh, my second mother.

    Happy new year.

  3. John oi,

    My mum is now here with me, and I am reading your reply to her. She was touched knowing that you thought of her.

    She sent you her regards as well, saying congrats on your being home, and that you should enjoy the sweet time with your family. She wish you and your family a new year ahead full of happiness and peace. This is the very same thing I want to wish you as well, John oi!

    I am glad to know that you are now home. All the best best things in the world to you, my friend.

    And, reading your blog is my interest, and it is something real that you can feel good about. So it is no vanity at all, i can guarantee 😉

    Hugs

  4. Le oi!!! thanks for dropping by. i’m doing my last preparations. i’m leaving for home in three hours. i wouldn’t be able to update my blog for more than a week.

    that is very true. the ceremonies in a catholic mass is somewhat a display of vanity. though most catholic would say that this very ceremony keeps the church intact.

    Tet festival is already approaching. Send my regards to co doanh.

    thanks a lot for reading. knowing that you you came here makes me feel good. that’s my vanity.

  5. The first part of this piece reminds me of the very recent time I attended a wedding at the church (the large Cathedral we passed by once or twice, and where I met Cathy the Filipino lady, u remember?).

    It was my first time attending such an event. I must say I was fantasied of the idea of getting married in the church, it appeared so sparkling and beautiful esp. when I was a child, watching the TV. But the event last time drained me out. It took around 2 hours, with all the vain steps and words and all…

    Today read “How pleasurable this banality is” and this one. I love them both, John 🙂

    How are u these days?

Leave a Reply

