Late evening/early morning foodtrip

I find the term funny and too pop-ish for my taste, but because of a seeming lack of a (more interesting) term to describe it, and since the rest of the Filipino society, the masa, that is, calls it this way anyway, let’s call it a foodtrip. Going on a foodtrip at some unholy hours can be very invigorating after a very long day.

When everything is quiet and the streets of Makati are nearly desolate, roughly between 11pm to 1am, we usually go out to eat at a nearby diner for our favorite ribsi (braised pork ribs and fried rice) or variants of silogs like tapsilog (braised beef cutlets, sunny side-up egg, and fried rice), longsilog (local sausage called longganisa, egg, and fried rice), and the list goes on. If one is on the healthier side, he can order a bowl of goto (rice porridge with entrails) and fried tokwa (tofu) that floats in a sweet soy sauce solution.

These late night dinners that are starting to become a nightly ritual are the only times I can have the luxury to enjoy, in a more spiritual way, the view of a more subdued, easy Makati, minus the crowd, crazy traffic jam, and unlivable humid tropical climate in daytime.

At midnight, the fact that I see not much, relative to the normal daytime routine scenes, makes the slightest, simplest experience  too much that my senses give my brain a plethora of inconsistent message. I almost always have a hard time synthesizing the things before me especially during late night dinners because I see less which forces me to see more.

I see people walking to some indeterminate destination, probably to work in the nearby buildings on Ayala Avenue; prostitutes waiting for customers in the narrow red light strip along De la Rosa Street; and some teenage kids congregating outside Cityland.

Probably that’s why I love going out at night. Aside from the gastronomic delight and interesting scenes that allow me to philosophize, this is also a great time to spend with the person I love. Ordinary, simple, even mundane things are the real stuff of our memory.

After all, during our last days here on earth, I read, what we remember are not the spectacle and the spectacular. Only ordinary moments that are too deeply ingrained in us.

Like a simple late night dinner in a Goodah diner several blocks away with somebody so dear.

http://goodah.com.ph

6 thoughts on “Late evening/early morning foodtrip”

  1. I’m from India, i love filipino food and have lived in Manila for two years. My only issue with restaurants and diners etc are quantity of rice . Its very little, one bowl of rice could hardly fill an empty stomach PLUS cost around 100 pesos could hardly justify the quantity.

    I have to order 4-5 bowls of extra rice to feel good. However, the look of surprise on the waiter and sometimes people are embarrassing. So, most of the time i order take away and eat at home, they think the food is for two :). I”m not fat or anything, i like filipino food but the quantity always left me wanting for more.

    I heard there are some places where we get unlimited rice, any ideas where ? Thanks

    1. hi sunil! that’s very true here. but it seems that eating 4-5 bowl is too difficult to imagine. hehehe. and yes we have diners here that have unlimited rice. Mang Inasal is one of them.

      i’m glad you love philippine cuisine. it appears to me that most foreigners do not appreciate the local cuisine because it is not as distinct as other countries’ in southeast asia. it has become too hybridized that, for me, it has totally lost its identity.

Leave a Reply

