An interview

From the summer class I was conducting in Las Pinas in the southern-most part of the metro, I went straight to Ateneo de Manila University, north of Metro Manila, for an interview in the university’s English Department. The trip to Katipunan took me more than two hours and a half, the interview less than fifteen minutes.

The chair of the Department was one of the nicest persons I’ve met who was not found wanting in reassuring me that my responses to her questions were not as dumb as I thought they were. One part of me told me that I did well. My other self-effacing part told me that I made a fool of my self. My maniacal ego incessantly told me ‘You were great’.

The score 2-1, in favor of me.

I’m scheduled for a demonstration teaching on Thursday with the members of the department pretending to be my students. I cannot wait.

11 thoughts on “An interview”

Leave a Reply

