Only a fool can become something

“I could not become anything: neither bad nor good, neither a scoundrel nor an honest man, neither a hero nor an insect. And now I am eking out my days in my corner, taunting myself with the bitter and entirely useless consolation that an intelligent man cannot seriously become anything; that only a fool can become something.” – Fyodor Dostoevsky

I used the post above for the longest time that it has become overly-entrenched in the general feel of this blog. I failed to noticed how it surreptitiously invaded my psyche, my thoughts on life, an irresponsibility which proved to be to my disadvantage. I only realized this after a reader of mine pointed this out. The quote gave me a strong justification for my mediocrity. Until I decided tonight that I’ve had enough, and that I must become somebody (even if it is tantamount to becoming a fool) or I’ll end up being a nobody.

http://heyoscarwilde.com

8 thoughts on “Only a fool can become something”

  1. No, not really. Just new to wordpress. I didn’t want to transfer any of my old posts to wordpress though, so for now my site looks bare. I mostly blog for fun and about really random things.

    I came across your blog because of the Virgin Labfest review of Karnabal…the lead actress is a friend of mine. Then, since it seemed like an interesting blog, I browsed your other entries 🙂

    1. oh, thanks.

      i love that play. i am thinking of watching all the new plays this year and will write again about them.

      i hope to see you at ccp, in case.

  2. in the middle of it, i got caught up in an almost endless list of readings for my class until i completely forgot about it. but i left it with my sister. i’ll go back to it someday.

    1. i should’ve brought it with me. surely, i will go back reading it. it seems that you’re new to blogging, or at least with wordpress. all the best. write on.

  3. How true. This reminds me of another quote from a Salman Rushdie book, “The Enchantress of Florence,” where a king contemplates his life, the narrator writes “The king was not content with being. He was striving to become.”

Leave a Reply

