Inceived

“ This is a curious question,” I began with all seriousness, and dove head first to, “what is the verb-form of inception?”

“Let me guess,” after a long pause, he blurted without any remorse after, “Inceive?”

I gave him an incredulous look.

We tried looking up for the word in his iPhone dictionary application and found out that the word is yet to be coined, assuming that his dictionary is as comprehensive as the Oxford English Dictionary. My closest guesses are ‘intercede’ and ‘intercept’ but none seem to capture the meaning of the word as it is used in the latest Christopher Nolan film, Inception. Probably none exists because the idea is, with all the technological limitations, only a figment of Nolan’s imagination, or if the idea does exist and is possible, the part where in it is subjected to in-the-flesh tests is non-existent, at least for now.

We watched the film together at SM Megamall, a walking distance from where we stay, last night catching the last full show that was scheduled at 9:40. We thought it was but proper to reward ourselves with a good movie after a long week working and a long day working on a weekend (!) that day, and for another reason that will is not be mentioned in this post.

We arrived at the cinema late, the movie already on its fifth minute; this meant we’ve missed important minutes alloted to backgrounding that will aid us in understanding the development of plot and characterization. This tardiness can be traced to that same reason why we had a quiet dinner in a Japanese fast food prior to entering the cinema.

None of us said anything during the entire run of the movie, even a whimper, which I secretly liked because I wanted to concentrate on the things I was seeing on the dusty screen of moving pictures before me rather than mundane concerns about our work or profound subjects that deal with our individual lives.

I admit I was lost in the first half of the film. This is a well-kept secret of mine which I am finally divulging here: dialogs in English of most Hollywood films I watch are senseless mambo-jumbo to me. I hardly get them or if I do, I do not get the details, only an general idea that a character is angry, happy, incontinent, or in the middle of a mind-blowing orgasm. This does not mean that I cannot comprehend; I should be ashamed of myself for having gone this far in my life not comprehending a single English film.

What debility this brings me however is that I do not usually ‘get’ the humor. So while the rest of the audience are laughing (or pretend to be laughing) to their lung’s content, I am left scratching my head not knowing why they laugh (or pretend to laugh) like a demented lot of about to-be-slaughtered sheep.

Before I meander even further, what makes Inception an interesting film to watch, aside from starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Ken Watanabe, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard, Ellen Page, and Cillian Murphy, is this unique characteristic of being amorphous. While it lends itself to light, detached viewing-for-base-pleasure, and pedestrian approach to a film, it can also be a challenging one to follow for people who take film viewing a serious endeavor, a business worthy of a critical reading.

It is an intelligent film, though hardly original, the idea of lucid dreaming, that is, for most films that attempt to tackle or question our very idea of reality, is doomed to be intelligent. I heard people around me in the cinema murmuring something unintelligible, probably finding affirmation from the person beside them that they completely understood the film and that the filmmaker had not taken them for fools.

Despite the hula-baloo about the film’s superb story-telling and impressive visuals, I think that the strongest point of the film is its ability to amuse and amaze both the dumb and the damn smart.

4 thoughts on “Inceived”

  1. I haven’t seen the movie, which is a damn shame because I tried twice this week and I just couldn’t get to cinema in time to get tickets. People have been raving about it and I will give it a try again today, Monday, because people don’t usually go to movies on Mondays, do they?

    1. yeah, they don’t usually go to cinemas on a monday. hahah. i hope you have finally watched the film.

      did you enjoy it?

  2. oh, you should watch it. it’s a good one. not in a critical sense, though. it is an amusing film. you’ll like it.

  3. I haven’t watched the movie – YET. or maybe I’m hoping not to watch the movie – although a lot of my friends tell me that the movie is really good. They say that it really stimulates your brains cells.

    A lot of english movies nowadays can be what you can categorize as rubbish. Gone were the days where most of the movies have ‘meat’ in them.

Leave a Reply

