Boredom

I spent another laid-back afternoon in my Archaeology class at UP feigning interest and keeping myself conscious lest I embarrass myself and my professor. By laid-back I meant slouching in my chair, my right foot on the back of the dilapidated arm chair in front of me, while a classmate of mine traced the rise and fall of the Egyptian civilization. It was nothing much different from last week’s talk on the grand ascent and equally epic decline of the civilizations in the Fertile Crescent and how they were overrun by the Akkadians,  Hittites, and all those tribes in history that seemed to have gotten nothing better to do but sacking villages inhabited by innocent and peace-loving people whose biggest problem was that they were painfully bored. The lecture totally beggared me with the understanding of these peoples’ motivation for fighting over a narrow strip of flood plain between Tigris and Euphrates when the rest of the world is up for the picking that time.

But I guess, that’s the irony of man’s existence–he burdens and pains himself with the non-necessary. He forces himself to do many things whose immediate importance in his life is indeterminate. He is, however, scared to admit to himself that most of the things he values, his ‘non-negotiables,’ are in fact as superfluous as his existence.

I gathered my supposed ‘non-negotiables’ on top of my armchair, took pictures of them from varying angles, and for a moment thought that my being there was redundant, a supernumerary ornamentation.

10 thoughts on “Boredom”

  1. Awwh.. Sayang..

    Our lectures’ schedule at the latest is 4PM onwards. We have a 4pm lecture once every month. I’ll invite you again once I get the details for our next lecture.

    Hope you’re having fun in Journ. By the way, have you taken any of Prof. Guieb’s classes? He’s one of my favorite professors — really brilliant guy. He used to be in my department but recently moved to CMC.

    1. he has not been my teacher. im thinking of moving to the asian studies program next sem. so i might not anymore have a chance to meet him.

      but, yeah, please drop by here if a lecture scheduled later in the afternoon is slated. thanks a lot.

  2. aah, btw. If you are taking anthro classes, then I would like to invite you to the Anthro Week next week. On Feb. 28 (Monday), the Anthropos (Anthropology Core Group) and the Anthropology Society are hosting a forum with the title A Public Display of Anthropology: The Academe and Beyond. The venue is PH 400, 9-12 AM. The speakers are Dr. Michael Tan (dean of the CSSP), Dr. Nestor Castro (Chairperson of the Anthro Dep.) and Dr. Willie Ronquillo (Chief of the Archaeology Division, National Museum).

    And on March 2, Wednesday, we are going to host a lecture entitled Epochs of Epics in PH 207, 2-4PM.

    You might be interested to come. 🙂

    1. i would love to, but i got work in the morning. see i’m a graduate student and my mornings are packed. would it be possible to have your future lectures scheduled later in the day so master’s students can also join?

      but thanks for the invitation, anyway.

  3. aah, well.. if it’s a reporting session, then i understand. i dislike student-reporting as well. but yeah, archaeology and anthropology are fun. are you taking a masters course in anthropology?

    1. yeah, i am doing my master’s, but in journ. i’m just taking an anthro (archeology) class at the cssp.

  4. I think it was a bit rude for me to ask who your professor was in this class. I apologise for that. Hopefully, you get to enjoy the class though. I know most of the professors who teach in Archaeology in UP — and they do try their very best in teaching. They are all very passionate and dedicated to Archaeology (teaching is another matter of course)

    1. yeah, and i won’t tell. it’s an ma anthro class. he’s not exactly boring, in fact i like his approach to teaching, only that the reporting part can be dragging a bit sometimes. i find anthro and archaeology interesting subjects.

  5. Who’s the professor?

    Just wondering how anyone could possibly make Archaeology so boring for students.

    I would say people back then (ancient times, most probably Neolithic) would’ve been less bored than we are. This technology crap in which everything happens with a click of a button makes this world less interesting day by day. And they weren’t just overrun that easily (they meaning the civilization that built the Fertile Crescent). Fertile Crescent was the origin of many civilizations in Europe and the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

