The run

We were welcomed by a sea of runners wearing yellow and black and some who are in gray jerseys (which I think looked a lot better; had I known I would have chosen to run 10k, but I’d be dead after the race, I think) when we arrived at The Fort five minutes before the race began.

It was our first time to run a race. I do not know with my brother, but as far as I am concerned, I shall join runs like this as often as I can.

I used to find the pretense of running-for-a-cause rather abhorrent, I still do, in fact, but I found myself enjoying the whole thing. This one by the National Geographic channel was a marketing ploy on a massive scale. They’re more than happy to announce that 10,000+ runners joined the race. Still big considering that there was a simultaneous fun run around SM Mall of Asia organized by GMA7’s Kapuso Foundation which I think would have attracted more as Filipinos are dead serious when it comes to their TV and movie stars. This one by Nat Geo which was founded upon a cliched advocacy of saving the environment dubbed  ‘Earth Day Run’ would pale in comparison to the tremendous pull of the roster of up-and-coming starlets of this local TV network.

Surprisingly, the cable channel still was able to attract runners, mostly in their 20s and 30s, to join the race. Organizing a race involving 10,000 plus professionals, enthusiasts, or plain curious, like me, was no easy feat.

However, the race posed a tinge of bitter irony: drinking stations were littered with discarded paper cups. It might have been that the advocacy of the race got lost, or mistranslated, along the way. Sad. But oh, what can one expect from something driven by marketing a cause that is misconstrued, or worse, not taken seriously?

The pretension of it all was sickening, but this will not keeping me from joining the next run in the metro.

14 thoughts on “The run”

  1. your 5k was a good start. i’m not even sure if i can finish 1k.
    btw, a friend told me you look a lot like drew arellano. and i replied, oo nga ano? hehe. artistahin!😉

  2. The run of Kapuso Foundation is not necessarily about their stars. It only happens that the “kunot-noo-acting actor” was there to host the event and there are a few stars who are really into running.

    Filipinos have never learned how to throw trash. That is the very reason why this country is still a trash when it comes to discipline. And then we will wonder why the cities are flooded. Being a runner boils down to being responsible not just to one’s health but also to the ground where he runs along.

    1. i know. it was for the kapuso foundation. hehehe. but they needed those “kunot-noo-acting actor” to pull in some people.

  3. Congrats on your first “marathon.” I ran the 21k yesterday and surprisingly, I’m still alive. I share your sentiment on the whole run for a cause issue, but what annoys me more is how now everyone is into running just because it’s the “in” thing. Oh well…I guess that’s just how Pinoys are.

    By the way, they had people sweeping up the little cups, sponges and banana peels yesterday off the roads before the run officially ended.

    1. you were there as well? and you ran the 21k race? that was hard. i still saw runners doing the 21k while i was having breakfast nearby, and that’s around 8 already!

    2. Yup! I was probably one of the ones you saw still running at around 8am😛 I don’t know how I managed to finish…I guess it was the promise of a gold “finisher” medal at the end that kept me going🙂

    3. really? there was something like that? had i known I would have run 21k then. hehehe. (and not finish it.)

Leave a Reply

