Is the world any better after 25 years?

No one can claim a more privileged spot under the sun anymore. Each of us is assigned a unique number that corresponds to nothing but happenstance, devoid of any divine plan we all are wont in deluding our pathetic selves that we have. And this interesting thing  I found in http://www.bbc.co.uk, by now has long lost its novelty, only shows how insignificant we all are.

I’m the 4,914,589,331st alive person on the planet, this number changes depending on the number of mortality and births at the moment. Not very special I must say.

I was told that I could expect to live up to a not so ripe age of 64 years and six months. My heartfelt thanks go to BBC for reminding me of my inevitable demise and conditioning my mind into thinking that it’s 64.5 years and tata. And more thanks, this time to fate, because I happened to be born to poor Filipino parents. Had I been a Japanese I could have expected to live up to 82.7 years, too senile for me (I am not an ageist!), but not too young as in the Central African Republic (45.9 years); I still want to get a PhD. before I reach that age and have those initials affixed to my name on my tombstone (or not anymore because it’s tasteless).

I expect to stand before my God, at most, when I’m in my 50s, though. Extending my life after those years, for me, is already overstaying my welcome.

5 thoughts on “Is the world any better after 25 years?”

  1. they’re not illegal but they are not distributed for free. most poor couples simply cannot afford them. we do not have legislation that allows them to be freely given away. moreover, this bill being debated in the philippine congress will allow more filipinos to have a choice and at the same time giving them means to truly make these choices.

  2. interesting, are contraceptives prohibited in the philippines? even in Ireland, they’ve been freely available since the mid 1970s?

  3. Really ? Already? Quite a mortifying thought, huh. Has the RH Bill in the Philippibes been approved yet? The problem with population is that it increases exponentially. Filipinos should have access to birth control pills, then, don’t you think so? This is where I diverge from Catholic beliefs.

    Cheers/

    1. it’ll take years of debating in the congress before it gets to be approved, if it’s approved at all. it’s unfortunate how something, like contraceptive use or protecting the health of the mother, is already taken a given in most countries in other parts of the world while here in the philippines still causes contentions.

Leave a Reply

