An old photo

Thanks to Facebook and its subscribers who almost instinctively upload pictures unearthed from their files or old family albums and tag everyone in the picture, I am happily reminded of how malnourished-looking I was when I was very young, how my older sister was much taller than I and darker-skinned, how my younger brother was so fat and cute, and, most importantly, how straight my hair was. It was shiny and straight then, now it’s nothing but frizzy and thick and can only be controlled by having it shaved too close to the scalp.

This picture was taken during a birthday party of my second cousin, the kid in blue shirt at the center of the picture. My sister and I always looked forward to his birthday because it meant balloons, spaghetti floating in sweet ketchup sauce, and lots of sweets and toys given away. Images of that party, far removed from my memory until now, is very vivid I can almost taste the fruit salad, pancit, and lechong baboy; hear the laughter of children my age and the conversations of adults; feel my childhood that passed me by so fleetingly.

And see the piercing look of my sister if she finds out this impertinence–my posting here of this horrifying reminder of a past best kept hidden in memory.

6 thoughts on “An old photo”

  1. hahaha. the taller one at the back is my sister. i’m the one beside her. i didn’t know my sister looked very masculine 15 years ago!

  2. none at all. hahaha. makita ni ni denden ga naga-ojt, makadlaw gid siya taman sa ginhawa niya. he looks very fat here. and cute.

  3. Memories , memories, Old pictures evoke that certain feeling, a feeling of nostalgia for those happy ( or sad ) years gone by. So, uhm, which one are you, John. There are 2 thin kids in the pic.

Leave a Reply

