The only positive integer that is one greater than a square and one less than a cube

Right after lunch, after I emailed my prof my paper and a speech a friend asked me to write for her, I decided to modify the appearance of my blog. I tried to look for a good theme that will speak best of my personality. It was difficult. Its former color, blue, made me feel sleepy. Maybe it was the reason I have been so slow at updating my blog in the past months. I wanted a happier, brighter color to remind me to write as often as time permits me and push me into reading other people’s ruminations. The current theme, Blogum, for now, works just fine. It’s uncluttered, clean, and minimalist (everyone wants to be minimalist these days lest he be branded cheap). So I am keeping my current theme but I am changing the color of the background a bit, changing it to a shade lighter than brown, and the picture in the header into something with more movement in it.

But this post is not about the theme of my blog, its background color, or header.

It will be about the number 26.

  • A Rubik’s Cube can always be solved in 26 moves or less.
  • Scientist Heinz von Foerster predicted that on November 11, 2026, technological singularity will occur – the point where we will reach a level of technological progress previously unknown to man. This includes the ability for machines to make themselves smarter, and, you know, finish off the human race.
  • 26 is the only positive integer that is one greater than a square (25 = 52) and one less than a cube (27 = 33).
  • A rhombicuboctahedron has twenty-six sides.
  • When a 3x3x3 cube is made of twenty-seven unit cubes, twenty-six of them are visible parts of the exterior layer of cubes.
  • Twenty-six is a repdigit in base three (222) and in base twelve (22).
  • In base ten, 26 is the smallest number that is not a palindrome to have a square(26^2=676) which is a palindrome.
  • The atomic number of iron
  • The number of spacetime dimensions in Bosonic string theory.
  • Messier object M26, a magnitude 9.5 open cluster in the constellation Scutum
  • The New General Catalogue object NGC 26, a spiral galaxy in the constellation Pegasus
  • 26 is the gematric number of the name of the God of Israel – YHWH
  • According to Jewish chronology, God gave the Torah in the 26th generation since Creation
  • Twenty-six is:
  • A 2003 novel by Leo McKay, Jr..
  • The number of letters in the English and Interlingua alphabets, if capital letters are not distinguished from lowercase letters.
  • The number of miles in a marathon rounded down (26 miles and 385 yards).
  • Often the number of episodes in a television program each year; this allows one new show per week for half the year, and one rerun per week for the rest of the year.
  • The age at which males can no longer be drafted in the United States.
  • In a normal deck of cards, there are 26 red cards and 26 black cards.
  • The number of bones in the normal human Foot and Ankle.

Of course these are nothing but random facts that have to do with the number 26. In fact, it’s in our nature to find significance in something innately insignificant.

Today, I woke up beside the dearest person in my life, took a shower, brushed my teeth, braved the daily morning commute, read the morning news on the train, drank my coffee, attended my classes, laughed with my students, lifted weights, did my laundry after. It’s a regular day, one of the 365 days that make up a year and that are indistinguishable from each other. I do not want to accord it any meaning. Like most I know.

But I guess, I am as mainstream as the rest. Today I thought of changing my theme. Today, I resolved to be better than I was. I got a new haircut for today. Today I wore a new shirt. Today I used my seldom-used pen. Today I treated myself to an expensive ice cream on my home. Tonight  I do not want to wash the dishes after dinner (or maybe I will still).

Today I want to just be happy because today’s…

By my sister, Gemini.


4 thoughts on “The only positive integer that is one greater than a square and one less than a cube”

  1. Ahahaha ! Now I get it…… At first I thought… uhm, talking about # 26 is a bit random…… then, whoa, it’s your bday and you’ve just turned 26 ! !

    Here’s to you… Cheers !

Leave a Reply

