Durian

image

I retrieved this picture of a durian from my draft folder while randomly browsing the WordPress app on my phone. The picture was taken roughly four months ago to document one of our many ‘firsts’. We bought the fruit one boring night from a stall in EDSA Central. I didn’t have plans to buy the strange-looking, foul-smelling tropical fruit, but I wanted to impress my companion with the its exotic taste and my dexterity and skill in extracting the precious pulp from its obstinately prickly cover.

Last night while looking for a nice place to have dinner we were surprised to learn that the sprawling market is undergoing “renovation” and will soon be renamed Greenfield District, which will mean that the fruit market will be relocated somewhere, but definitely it cannot be where it is now because the place will soon be high-end.

And this durian, the last bought from that fruit market.

2 thoughts on “Durian”

Leave a Reply

