At work on a Sunday

It’s not because I am such an industrious worker. Most of the time I am not. My views with regard to work have changed countless of times. They’ve flowed and ebbed depending on the fulfillment and financial reward I derive from them. I could spring to as high as not expecting remuneration so long as the toil gives me some feeling of ebullience and satisfaction for having helped others, or I could neap to as low as counting every minute of it and not working beyond the final minute knowing that I am not anymore paid for it. Work has become so perfunctory (has it never been?) that I often dread going to work. There are rare occasions, however, that I regain my long-lost insouciance toward work. Sadly, I am not very consistent in keeping it that way.

Today, I left home at 7:15 for my make-up work from 8:00-12:00. That’s a failure to keep the Sabbath Day holy, the fourth commandment in the Decalogue. But the issue whether the real Sabbath is Sunday or Saturday is still being debated. Until the time Christians have settled the matter, I won’t feel contrite working on a Sunday (or Saturday).

It’s a downward journey, I hear most people say. Once one has given up his Sunday for work, he’ll have very few excuses not to give up his evenings, holidays, even those precious moments with people dear to him.

3 thoughts on “At work on a Sunday”

  1. Time has change the setting of work schedules and arrangement. Unfortunately, I think with most people these days, there’s really no sense of whether Sunday is suppose to be a rest day. Economic factors and effects had dictated most in this country to work almost on a daily basis. To your point, almost giving up the time for family,and/or special someone. Sometimes it sucks eh!

    1. yeah, same feeling. our work defines us. but then again it boils down to the fact that we lack the freedom to choose. our work, in a way, cuffs us.

Leave a Reply

