Fifth

It was a rhythmically pleasant gnashing song coming from that moment of impact of the tip of the needle licking my skin, kissing it, biting it, then violently withdrawing, until droplets of reds oozed out only to be wiped away with a ballad of balled sterilized cotton. This happening thousands of times, as many number of times as the stated rate per minute on the label of a tattoo machine attached to a mini-transformer. This small device from where that beautiful pain emanated was held confidently by my brother.

He did two out of the four. Make it three out of five now.

AdobePhotoshopExpress_b22552ed80de451f840c06331a16d29c

There’s no story here. He called the pattern ‘Samoan,’ but I did not feel like checking Google to verify his claim. He said it without trying to fake the depth of his voice. He never saw doubt in my face. I said let’s go with it. I will not wail if one day I find out this is in fact Rapa Nui or Inca.

Or just anything.

2 thoughts on “Fifth”

  1. Thats really a cool looking tattoo, John. Would really love to have your brother do a few tattoos on me well, if he is willing🙂 Please do send my regards to your family, hope they are all doing fine and well.- Vic

Leave a Reply

